EN   |   DE


TRX4 Tires and rims

The tire / rim combination that Traxxas includes with the TRX4 models are really really good and is used by many drivers. However, the rim is made of plastic (the tires are glued on), are therefore quite light and have holes in the rim bed. What is indifferent in dry driving can become a nuisance when crossing bodies of water. Water collects in the tires.
The alternative are beadlock rims made of aluminum or steel. The tire is clamped here in the rim, which consists of several parts.
Advantage: The inserts in the tires stay dry and you get more weight on the ground.
Disadvantage: Rims in steel cost between 50 - 60 euros, the aluminum from about 100 euros.

TRX4 Tires

Reifen1 The original Traxxas tire with a diameter of 118 mm is popular with many drivers. Good grip on most terrains and universal profile make it a welcome companion. Who does not change the original rims / tires makes with certainty no mistake.
The only drawback, the original Traxxas tire is not scalig, so it is not modeled after any real existing tire. For many drivers, however, the absolutely scalig is very important.

Up to 120 mm tire diameter can be installed in the TRX4 well, sometimes minor rework is required. In the accessories there are then the tires that are true to scale of the original 1:10 replicated. The lettering is then according to the large role models. In addition, there are also tires that meet special requirements. The company RC4WD has a wide range of tires. Which here but the best tire is also on personal wishes and expectations.

Reifen2 Reifen3 Reifen4

Tires for rocky terrain:
Interco Super Swamper 1.9" TSL/Blogger 121 mm from RC4WD
Interco IROK 1.9" 118mm from RC4WD.
LOUISE CR-CHAMP 1.9 supersoft 120mm from Louise.

Tires for loose ground:
Mickey Thompson 1.9" Baja Claw TTC 120mm von RC4WD
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R 1.9" 4.75" 120 mm von RC4WD
LOUISE CR-GRIFFIN 1.9 supersoft 120mm von Louise.

Of course, there are many more varieties and companies, the range here is very large.

to top

TRX4 Rims

Felgen01 The TRX4 rim is made of plastic on which the tires are glued. If you want to remove the tires from the rims you have to "boil" them.
The rim serves its purpose, but already has the mentioned disadvantages that water can get inside. The inserts in the rim get wet, the water must then be removed from the tire again after the trip. In addition, the tire change is associated with a little more effort. But the real problem is the weight, the plastic rims are really quite light. When crawling, the contact pressure to the ground is not insignificant.

The solution for more weight are rims made of metal. These can be made of aluminum or steel. The weight here is around 70 grams and thus about 55 grams above that of the plastic pedants. Since we drive 4 pieces on the car we have 200 grams more mass below.

Felgen02 Felgen03 Felgen04

Also, you can clearly see that rims made of aluminum or steel look a lot better.
Attention! With aluminum rims, it is usually necessary to adjust the track somewhat, by the portal housing and the screw connection of the beadlock rims no longer fit. The dealer of confidence advises here gladly.

Who chooses aluminum rims where the rim is bolted from the inside must very often widen the track, otherwise the portal housing in the rim drag or even block completely. If wheel spacers are mounted it can be that I changed the steering of the vehicle (dragging on the body or the bumper). A modified bumper can really pose real problems here.

to top

TRX4 Tires - Rims Combination

Offset 01 Especially with the TRX Defender there is always the problem that the wheel / tire combination does not really fit into the wheel housing.
This is of course once the offset of the rims, these are already far out there will also be problems with a grinding tire in the wheel housing.
The next thing is the tire width. Here too the same problem, who mounts extremely wide tires should be clear, the tire will grind when turning on the check.

So if you want it a little scalier and want the rims including tires are nice in the Radksten, yes the should look for a slightly narrower tire and a rim that goes further inward in the offset. Below a few example pictures. Here is a RC4WD rim with zero offset and an Interoc SuperSwamper with a width of 39.5 and a height of 121 mm installed. The rim used is a RC4WD Pro10 1.9 Steel with Traxxas driver. The necessary stability of the very narrow tire and the weight of the vehicle is achieved with the A.L.T. Foams. Due to the narrow width, the tire fits perfectly into the wheel housings of the Defender.

Offset 02 Offset 03 Offset 04

to top

Weighting the wheels

Einlage Especially popular is the "Weighting the wheels" of the rim. Here, a layer of weights is glued around the ring of the beadlock rims. The weight is increased here, for example: by 6o grams per wheel (12x5 grams). The contact pressure on the ground is thus significantly increased.
You should also consider that the required steering forces are increased, so replace the steering servo with this conversion (see steering servo). Also, the inserts in the tires are somewhat compressed by this step which makes them a little harder.

to top

TRX4 Inserts

Einlage You have to think of the tire inserts as air pressure. What is regulated by the air pressure in real tires is done here by a foam insert.
This means that the harder the insert, the harder the tire is "inflated". These inserts are available in different hardnesses from different manufacturers.
If strong pressure is exerted on a tire the air is compressed, inevitably the tire becomes harder. On the market, there are in addition to the normal foam rings that are included with the vehicles or already installed, others that either consist of different foams or but by their special shape of the tire below a particularly large bearing surface offer, or but by a special kind of shaping this effect erziehlen.

Einlagen01 The A.L.T. Foams inserts from RC-HP are new on the market. These are made of a single-layer special foam with blind holes in the sidewall. The inserts offer extreme contact pressure on the ground and since here the closed side comes outwards, the manufacturer promises an extremely good lateral support against the unpleasant rolling of the tires. These inserts are adapted for most tires available on the market. The A.L.T. Foams do not absorb water!

Einlage02 From Proline there are the Dualstage which are quite well known. Here the rings that come into the tire are made of two different solid layers. The inner which rests on the rim is hard to control the rolling, the outer soft to ensure an ideal ground position. The Dualstage are currently used by a large number of drivers. They are available in two sizes, 1.9 and 2.2 inches but no adjustment to different tire widths which can lead to problems from time to time.

Einlagen03 CrazyCrawler offers the Laserfoams. Anyone who has ever dealt with crawling has probably stumbled across the name.
The inserts resemble a gear wheel and thus create, through their profile, the mix of good fit on the rim and optimal grip on the ground. The inserts are available for different vehicle weights and tire sizes and are very common in the crawler scene because they respond to the different weights of the vehicles.

Please note:
If the rim was weighted, the foam is also harder because it is already somewhat pre-compressed.

to top



TRX4-GALLERY

Galerie

OUR  PARTNER

RC-HP

OUR  PARTNER

Speedshop 24

OUR  PARTNER

Modellbau Berlinski

ALT-FOAMS

Arrowmax

DINGSIGN

Dingsign - License Plates

TRX4-VIDEOS

Videos

Logo
Logo

ARROWMAX

Arrowmax

SCALEMAN

Scaleman

GMADE-BOM

Gmade BOM

TRX4 Reifen & Felgen

Die Reifen / Felgen Kombination die Traxxas bei den TRX4 Modellen beilegt sind wirklich richtig gut und wird von vielen Fahrern genutzt. Die Felge ist jedoch aus Kunststoff (die Reifen sind aufgeklebt), sind dadurch recht leicht und haben Löcher im Felgenbett. Was bei trockener Fahrweise egal ist kann beim durchqueren von Gewässern zum Ärgernis werden. In den Reifen sammelt sich Wasser.
Die Alternative sind Beadlock Felgen aus Aluminium oder Stahl. Der Reifen wird hier in der Felge, die aus mehreren Teilen besteht, geklemmt.
Vorteil: Die Einlagen in den Reifen bleiben trocken und man bekommt mehr Gewicht auf den Boden.
Nachteil: Felgen in Stahl kosten zwischen 50 - 60 Euro, die in Aluminium ab ca. 100 Euro.

TRX4 Reifen

Reifen1 Der original Traxxas Reifen mit einem Durchmesser von 118 mm ist bei vielen Fahrern beliebt. Gute Haftung auf den meisten Terrains und universelles Profil machen ihn zu einem gern gesehen Begleiter. Wer die originale Felgen / Reifen nicht wechselt macht mit Sicherheit keinen Fehler.
Der einziger Nachteil, der original Traxxas Reifen ist nicht scalig, er ist also keinem real existierendem Reifen nachempfunden. Für viele Fahrer ist aber das absolut scalige sehr wichtig.

Bis 120 mm Reifendurchmesser lassen sich im TRX4 gut verbauen, manchmal sind kleinere Nacharbeiten erforderlich. Im Zubehör gibt es dann die Reifen die Maßstabsgetreu den Originalen 1:10 nachgebaut sind. Die Beschriftung ist dann den großen Vorbildern entsprechend. Zudem gibt es hier auch Reifen die besonderen Anforderungen entsprechen. Die Firma RC4WD hat hier eine große Auswahl an Reifen. Welcher hier aber der beste Reifen ist liegt auch an persönlichen Wünschen und Erwartungen.

Reifen2 Reifen3 Reifen4

Reifen für felsigen Untergrund:
Interco Super Swamper 1.9" TSL/Blogger 121 mm von RC4WD
Interco IROK 1.9" 118mm von RC4WD.
LOUISE CR-CHAMP 1.9 supersoft 120mm von Louise.

Reifen für losen Untergrund:
Mickey Thompson 1.9" Baja Claw TTC 120mm von RC4WD
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R 1.9" 4.75" 120 mm von RC4WD
LOUISE CR-GRIFFIN 1.9 supersoft 120mm von Louise.

Natürlich gibt es noch viel mehr Sorten und Firmen, das Angebot ist hier sehr gross.

nach oben

TRX4 Felgen

Felgen01 Die TRX4-Felge ist aus Kunststoff auf denen die Reifen verklebt werden. Möchte man die Reifen von den Felgen entfernen muss man diese "abkochen".
Die Felge erfüllt ihren Zweck, hat aber schon die erwähnten Nachteile das Wasser ins Innere gelangen kann. Die Einlagen in der Felge werden Nass, das Wasser muss nach dem Ausflug dann aus dem Reifen wieder entfernt werden. Zudem ist eben der Reifenwechsel mit etwas höherem Aufwand verbunden. Das wirkliche Problem ist aber das Gewicht, die Felgen aus Kunststoff sind wirklich recht leicht. Beim crawlen ist der Anpressdruck zum Boden nicht unerheblich.

Die Lösung für mehr Gewicht sind Felgen aus Metal. Diese können aus Aluminium oder Stahl sein. Das Gewicht liegt hier um die 70 Gramm und damit etwa 55 Gramm über dem der Kunststoff Pedanten. Da wir 4 Stück am Auto fahren haben wir 200 Gramm mehr Masse unten.

Felgen02 Felgen03 Felgen04

Auch kann man klar erkennen, dass Felgen aus Aluminium oder Stahl um einiges besser aussehen.
Achtung! Bei Aluminiumfelgen ist es meist nötig die Spur etwas anzupassen, durch die Portalgehäuse und die Verschraubung der Beadlock Felgen passen diese nicht mehr. Der Händler des Vertrauens berät hier gerne.

Wer sich für Aluminiumfelgen entscheidet bei denen die Felge von der Innenseite verschraubt wird muss sehr häufig die Spur verbreitern, da sonst die Portalgehäuse in der Felge schleifen oder sogar komplett blockieren. Wenn Spurverbreiterungen montiert werden kann es sein, dass ich das Einlenken des Fahrzeugs verändert (schleifen an der Karosserie oder der Stoßstange). Eine geänderte Stoßstange kann hier wirklich echte Probleme aufwerfen.

nach oben

Felgengewichte / Aufbleien

Einlage Besonders beliebt ist das "Aufbleien" der Felge. Hier wird um den Ring der Beadlock Felgen eine Lage Gewichte geklebt. Das Gewicht wird hier z.B.: um 6o Gramm pro Rad (12x5 Gramm) erhöht. Der Anpressdruck am Boden wird so deutlich erhöht.
Man sollte auch hier bedenken das die erforderlichen Lenkkräfte erhöht sind, also bei diesem Umbau das Lenkservo austauschen (siehe Lenkservo) . Auch die Einlagen in den Reifen werden durch diesen Schritt etwas komprimiert was diese dann etwas härter macht.

nach oben

TRX4 Einlagen

Einlage Die Einlagen der Reifen muss man sich als Luftdruck vorstellen. Was bei realen Reifen über den Luftdruck geregelt wird übernimmt hier eine Schaumstoffeinlage.
Das bedeutet, je härter die Einlage umso härter ist der Reifen "aufgepumpt". Diese Einlagen gibt es in verschiedenen Härten von unterschiedlichen Herstellern.
Wird starker Druck auf einen Reifen ausgeübt wird die Luft komprimiert, zwangsläufig wird der Reifen härter. Auf dem Markt gibt es ausser den normalen Schaumstoff ringen die den Fahrzeugen beiliegen oder schon eingebaut sind, auch andere die entweder aus verschiedenen Schaumstoffen bestehen oder aber durch ihre besondere Form dem Reifen unten eine besonders grosse Auflagefläche bieten, oder aber durch eine besondere Art der Formgebung diesen Effekt erziehlen.

Einlagen01 Die A.L.T.-Foams Einlagen von RC-HP sind neu auf dem Markt. Diese sind aus einem einlagigen spezial Schaufstoff mit Bohrungen im äusseren Radius. Laut Hersteller sind diese Einlagen Gewichtsunabhänging und sollen allen Fahrzeugen den optimalen Anpressdruck am Boden bescheren. Diese Einlagen gibt es auch in den entsprechenden Breiten. Ob das wirklich nun der Olymp der Reifeneinlagen ist und wir endlich für jedes Gewicht die optimale Einlage haben, wird ein Test zeigen.

Einlage02 Von Proline gibt es die Dualstage die recht bekannt sind. Hier sind die Ringe die in den Reifen kommen aus zwei unterschiedlichen festen Lagen. Die innere die an der Felge anliegt ist Hart um das Walken zu kontrollieren, die Äussere weich um eine ideale Bodenhaltung zugewährleisten. Die Dualstage werden aktuell von sehr vielen Fahrern genutzt. Es gibt sie in zwei Grössen, 1.9 und 2.2 Zoll allerdings keine Anpassung an unterschiedliche Reifenbreiten was ab und an zu Problemen führen kann.

Einlagen03 CrazyCrawler bietet die Laserfoams an. Jeder der sich irgendwann mal mit dem Crawlen beschäftigt hat ist wohl über den Namen gestolpert.
Die Einlagen ähneln einem Zahnrad und schaffen so, durch ihr Profil, den Mix aus gutem Sitz auf der Felge und optimalem Grip am Untergrund. Die Einlagen gibt es für unterschiedliche Fahrzeuggewichte und Reifengrössen und sind in der Crawlerszene sehr verbreitet da sie auf die unterschiedlichen Gewichte der Fahrzeuge eingehen.

Bitte Beachten:
Wurde die Felge aufgebleit wird auch der Schaumstoff härter da er schon etwas vorkomprimiert ist.

nach oben



UNSER  PARTNER

RC-HP

TRX4-GALERIE

Galerie

DINGSIGN

Dingsign - License Plates

GMADE-BOM

BOM

Logo
Logo